• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Bob Hamman's assertion

#1 User is offline   andych 

• PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2005-May-27, 19:42

From Hamman's At the Table

To the chess players who made me realize there had to be an earier game.  To the college professors whose classes were so boring I couldn't help but focus on bridge.  And to the theorists and promoters responsible for five-card majors and forcing notrumps - they gave many talented opponents weapons they couldn't beat me with.

What do you think??

:) :lol:

#2 User is offline   mike777 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2005-May-27, 20:07

1) Well since I got my MBA from Bob's college, I agree.
2) 2/1? ya agree, Look how great one must be to get good results. We must play as well as Fred. Look at how many patches we all play with and discuss here :)

#3 User is offline   Gerben42 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:Astronomy, Mathematics
    Nuclear power

Posted 2005-May-28, 16:06

Just a good system won't make you able to beat Hamman. A good system is a little help, but not making mistakes is more important.

And all these 'patches' are not patches but 'detailed agreements'. Do not assume a different system won't use a lot of conventions at the highest level.
Two wrongs don't make a right, but three lefts do!
My Bridge Systems Page

BC Kultcamp Rieneck

#4 User is offline   csdenmark 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2005-May-28, 16:56

#5 User is offline   fred 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2005-May-28, 18:20

csdenmark, on May 28 2005, 10:56 PM, said:

Bob Hamman is a great player - but he has to pay credit to his partners Paul Soloway and James Jacoby. He also needs to pay credit to Dallas Aces and the whole combat versus Blue Team. This means he has been taken into an excellent school and he has been able take advantage from that.