• 2 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Preemptive Transfers

#1 User is offline   IrishLefty 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2003-July-21, 21:26

Has anyone tried preemptive transfers, and what kind of success have you had with it? I've been fooling around with different versions of P/T for about 30 years (strictly for fun) and over the long run, it seems to give a slight advantage over no transfers.

#2 User is offline   the hog 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Wagner and Bridge

Posted 2003-July-22, 00:34

Have tried these but believe the disadvantages strongly outweigh the advantages. You are in effect giving the opponents two bites of the cherry eg
(3H) X = H s/suiter 3S = t/o of S
or if you like
X = general values, happy for pd to hit 3S if he wishes.
"The King of Hearts a broadsword bears, the Queen of Hearts a rose." W. H. Auden.

#3 User is offline   EricK 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2003-July-22, 01:28

Have tried these but believe the disadvantages strongly outweigh the advantages. You are in effect giving the opponents two bites of the cherry eg
(3H) X = H s/suiter 3S = t/o of S
or if you like
X = general values, happy for pd to hit 3S if he wishes.

Suppose you are playing the first of your suggestions

Compare (3S) X All pass with
(3H) 3S (p) ? ???

This is surely a gain for the transfer pre-empt (if the pass of the negative double was correct)

Also, right siding the contract (after eg 3H (p) 3S All pass) must be worth about half a trick per hand in the long term. And keeping the unknown hand hidden must be worth a further fraction of a trick.

And if you play transfer pre-empts, you can include other hands (eg with a 6-6 two suiter you can transfer into the higher then bid the lower)