BBO Discussion Forums: Counting the hand and remembering cards - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Counting the hand and remembering cards Practicing techniques + learning curve

#1 User is offline   Chamaco 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Chess, Bridge, Jazz, European Cinema, Motorbiking, Tango dancing

Posted 2004-February-22, 07:07

Hi all,
I would like to hear about techniques for improving skills in counting the hand, remebering cards, etc.

I have started playing bridge 2.5 years ago, and I had never played seriously card games before.

However, I took advantage of my chess player's experience (I am a Master) in studying the "right books".
I studied a lot of books, and this certainly helped me improving my bidding knowledge and hand evaluation faster than other players who played only 2 years.

Improving bidding skill is - in general - something very conceptual, and I found it very natural after years of studying chess strategy.

Yet, card play is another story.
I identified my greatest "black hole" in card play even since the beginning, and therefore tried to cope with it the same way I did with bidding: reading tons of books (almost everything by Lawrence, Kelsey, Roth, Reese and more authors), and playing a lot, at the table and online.
Thgis certainly helped developing a sense for the *strategy* in playing cards (dangerous opponent, endplay strategies, percentage plays, safety plays, etc).
But what is still missing is the basic *technique* = REMEMBERING the cards, which is different from tactics and strategy, simply vbecause it lays at their foundation.

Yes, I have trouble remembering the cards.
At trick 5 I have already forgotten some key cards that went out.
Or, after an opp fails to follow suit the first time, at his second or 3rd discard, the distribution becomes already very "foggy".